7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 24, 2014 9:35 AM by philmodjunk

How to assign an order to a new or existing customer

OussamaBenbila

Title

How to assign an order to a new or existing customer

Hi all,

I'm new to FM pro, and I have been trying to figure out how to assign an order to a new /existing customer?
      I have an order table, a customer table and a join table.

I also would like to assign an order by searching on the existing customer table without having to type in the customer details a second time... and if the customer doesn't exist, type in the details and then assign to the order.

Please help

Thank you

• 1. Re: How to assign an order to a new or existing customer
          philmodjunk

Link the customer table to your Orders table by a customer ID field.

Customers::__pkCustomerID = Orders::_fkCustomerID

With that relationship defined, you can either put fields from Customers on your orders layout to show info on your customer or you can set up fields in Orders that use an auto-enter field option to look up (copy) the data from the selected customer record.

Format _fkCustomerID as a drop down list or popup menu of customers with customer ID specified for field 1 and a customer name field specified for field two in a "use values from field" value list. (You may need to set up a calculation field to combine first and last names to use with this list.

If customer does not appear in list, click a button that runs a script that creates the new customer record and uses a variable to copy over the ID of the new record into your _fkCustomerID field.

Once you can get the "beginner level" approach working. You can take a look at using a script supported method where you can type in part of the customer's name and see the list "filter down" to just those customers. If you enter a name that does not exist in the list, the script can detect this and offer to create a new customer record for you.