7 Replies Latest reply on May 6, 2014 6:59 AM by philmodjunk

How to autogenerate an ID with a certain number of characters?

terrypink

Title

How to autogenerate an ID with a certain number of characters?

Hi everyone,

Total newbie to Filemaker, apologies if this is too simplistic a question, but I need to create an ID field that is automatically populated, but it needs to be between 1 and 400 characters.  So, if the first person is added, that person's ID needs to be 0001, not just the number 1.

Is there a way to do that?

Thank you so much!
           ~Terry

• 1. Re: How to autogenerate an ID with a certain number of characters?
          philmodjunk

Use and auto-entered serial number field to auto-enter a serial number.

Anytime you need to display that value on a layout where you need the leading zeroes, use a calculation field to add in the leading zeroes:

Right ( "000" & SerialNumberField , 4 )

But do you really mean that you want a string that is 400 characters in length or an ID number with a maximum value of 400?

• 2. Re: How to autogenerate an ID with a certain number of characters?
            terrypink

Thank you so much, Phil, for your kind response!

The only thing though, is that I don't think the Layout approach will work.  The users want to have two ID fields, one with a 4 character maximum, and the other with a 3 character maximum and then a final ID that would add the two together.   So, the first patient, would have the first ID field as 0001 and the second ID field as 001 and their final ID field as 0001001.  I hope what I'm describing makes sense... thank you so much again!

• 3. Re: How to autogenerate an ID with a certain number of characters?
              philmodjunk

What you describe now does not match your original post.

Can you explain why they need two ID fields to be combined like this?