4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 14, 2014 10:49 PM by RobertChan

How to automatically create related records in a third table

RobertChan

Title

How to automatically create related records in a third table

I am new in Filemaker.  I have an order header related to order details by the order number.  I also have a packing details table related to the order header via the order number.   I have another Kit master related to the Kit details via the parent item code. I have the order details showing as a portal in an order entry layout.  User will enter the kit item code during order entry.  How can I get Filemaker to expand the kit to the component level based on the kit details and fill out the packing table with the expanded components?

e.g.

Parent 1 - Component 1 x1 , Component 2 x 1, Component 3 x 2.

Parent 2 - Component 4X2, Component 5x 1, Component 6 x 1.

When user order 10 of Parent 1 and 5 of Parent 2, I would like the packing details table to have the following 6 records.

Component 1 with 10 units,

Compoennt 2 with 10 units

Component 3 with 20 units

Component 4 with 10 units

Component 5 with 5 units and

Component 6 with 5 units.

Thanks..

• 1. Re: How to automatically create related records in a third table
          philmodjunk

I'm not sure if your data model matches what I am about to post or not:

Invoices----<LineItems (InvoiceData in starter solutions)>------Products-----<ComponentList>------Products|Component

Invoices::__pkInvoiceID = LineItems::_fkInvoiceID
               Products::__pkProductID = LineItems::_fkInvoiceID
               Products::__pkProductID = ComponentList::_fkKitID
               Products|Component::__pkProductID = ComponentList::_fkComponentID

Important detail: Products and Products|Component are two table occurrences with the same data source table.