2 Replies Latest reply on Jan 18, 2015 3:18 AM by MartonNagy

How to calculate repeating values in a related date field?

MartonNagy

Title

How to calculate repeating values in a related date field?

Hi,

I am pretty new to filemaker and I am struggling with an easy problem. I have a parent table containing participants and I have a child table with all their experimental appointments. For a given participant there can be several experimental appointments with date fields (an other infos).  I would like to have a calculation on the layout of my participant infos which would show how many NOT REPEATING dates they have (sometimes one participant has many experimental appointments on the same date and I want to see how many different occasions were they visiting our lab.).

I could easily calculate a sum for all the related date fields, but I can't figure out how to eliminate the repeating dates.

Thanks for all the help in advance!

• 1. Re: How to calculate repeating values in a related date field?
          philmodjunk

The ExecuteSQL() function can calculate this (Note this is NOT the script step of nearly the same name). A new way to count unique values in FileMaker 12

You could set up a conditional value list of your dates using your existing relationship as the means to limit the value list to just the dates for this participant. Then ValueCount ( ValueListItems ( Get ( FileName ) ; "YourValueListNameHere" ) ) will return the number of unique date values for your participant.

You could also modify your data model from:

Participants-----<Appointments

to:

Participants-----<appointments>-----Dates

Appointments::_fkParticipantID = Dates::_fkParticipantID AND
          Appointments::Date = Dates::Date