1 Reply Latest reply on Jul 23, 2010 9:17 AM by philmodjunk

How to Combine Starter Solutions......?

MarisaShipley

Title

How to Combine Starter Solutions......?

Hello...I am brand new to File Maker Pro. I work for a small business and my boss wants me to be able to track Contacts, the Parts we have to order and generate Purchase Orders. The Contacts Management, Purchase Orders and the Inventory starter solutions are exactly what I need.

My question is this...Is there a way to essentially merge them to make them all exist in one database? The purpose of this being so that I could select a contact from a drop down menu in the PO form and pull the products from inventory rather than having to retype it all...like the tabs in the Inventory starter solution

Second question is would it be better to have the databases be seperate and just pull information from one to the other in some way?

• 1. Re: How to Combine Starter Solutions......?
          philmodjunk

I'll start with your last question first. Separate vs. combined is a trade off, there are advantages and disadvantages to either approach.

Merging the files takes a lot of work and you'll need to have a good understanding of how filemaker databases work before you take that on. It would also help to have Filemaker Advanced so you can use it's design reports to better manage the process. There's also a 3rd party tool: FMMigrator that offers better tools for merging. I haven't used that product, but it's the first one I'd look at if I had to merge any more existing files.

An all in one file is less confusing to the new filemaker developer as it's easier to control navigation from layout to layout and easier to set up your scripts to do what you want with each layout.