10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 3, 2012 9:20 AM by philmodjunk

how to concatenate with a calculation

SarahStacilauskas

Title

how to concatenate with a calculation

I am not a pro at filemaker but i need to take a text file and import it into filemaker. it has fields called StyleNumber and Page number. i need a formulat to find duplicate stylenumbers and merge them together and then concatenate the page numbers that coorespond to them. for example if i have a style number abc123 and its on page 133 and 144 it needs to ouput like this:

abc123133, 144

I am trying this calculation field. but i must be missing something becuase when i export to text file nothing works.

Substitute ( ValueListItems ( Style Number ; Page Number ); "¶"; ",")

Screen_Shot_2012-07-03_at_9.13.48_AM.png

• 1. Re: how to concatenate with a calculation
          philmodjunk

Substitute ( List ( Style Number ; Page Number ); "¶"; ", ") //note added space after comma

Should work, but so would"

StyleNumber & ", " & PageNumber

The only advantage to the first calculation is if you sometimes do not have a value in one of the two fields. In those cases, the first expression leaves out the unneeded comma.

• 2. Re: how to concatenate with a calculation
            SarahStacilauskas

do i then just Export as text file? then when i export how do i get the calculation to run on my records? not sure what to choose for Field Export order?

again..i am not a pro at programming so sorry if this is a dumb question.

thanks for your reply

• 3. Re: how to concatenate with a calculation
              philmodjunk

You'll need to explain in much more detail what you are trying to do with this calculation and your data export. FileMaker does not export calculations, only the value returned by that calculation.

• 4. Re: how to concatenate with a calculation
                SarahStacilauskas