12 Replies Latest reply on Dec 14, 2010 9:48 AM by philmodjunk

How to copy a found set to a portal?

ferdinand

Title

How to copy a found set to a portal?

Hi,

I am fairly new to Filemaker (Pro Advanced 11), working on my first database.
      I would like to copy records from a found set to a portal, in order to create a new offer.

I have the following tables (many-to-many):

[Object Table]
      ObjectID_pk

[Object-Offer_join Table]
      ObjectID_fk
      OfferID_fk

[Offer Table]
      OfferID-pk

I want do a search in the Object layout. The found set shall be copied to the portal in the Offer layout. Afterwards the Offer layout shall open with a new record/new ID, showing the copied found set in the portal.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks in advance 

Ferdinand

• 1. Re: How to copy a found set to a portal?
          philmodjunk

Can you explain what you are doing with an example? What you want to do doesn't quite make sense to me...

• 2. Re: How to copy a found set to a portal?
            ferdinand

We have several thousand of art works in our object table. From this table we select various artworks for to create offers to clients. Using the usual pull down menu for to select artworks in the Offer portal would be extremely inconvenient.

Therefore my idea: we do a search in the Object table, press a button and send to the found art works to the offer layout, which will open immediately for further editing (adding the address from the contact table, e.g.).

I hope, that this explains my problem.

Ferdinand

• 3. Re: How to copy a found set to a portal?
              philmodjunk

Ok. I get it. You need to build a list in Object_Offer_Join to list all the objects that make up a given offer. Since the same object can be listed in more than one offer, you need the join table to make this work.

The key here is to get the correct OfferID assigned to the join records.