2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 11, 2012 12:42 PM by JosephOrtega

How to count how many times an email address appears in a table

JosephOrtega

Title

How to count how many times an email address appears in a table

I'm making a solution that will tell me how many of my customers have participated in various promotions that we've had. I have a table that has a record for each time a customer has participated in a promotion. I'm trying to figure out a way to make a report that lists the customers that have participated in the most promotions. I need to figure out how to make a calculation that counts the number of times a particular email address appears in that table. 

I'm a FileMaker newbie. I've been searching the internet for days and reading all about calculations, but I haven't had any luck figuring it out. I'd really appreciate it if anybody has any ideas how I should go about this, or if anybody could point me in the right direction. Thanks! 

• 1. Re: How to count how many times an email address appears in a table
          philmodjunk

You need to research aggregate functions and summary fields.

Using a summary field:

Define a summary field in this table as the "count of" any field that's never empty. The email address field will suffice in this case.

On a list view layout based on this table, add a sub summary layout part "when sorted by" the email address field. Place your summary field in this sub summary part.

Return to browse mode, show all records and sort your records by the email address field. The summary field will now show a total count for each email address. If you take another look at your sort records dialog, there's an option at the bottom where you can 'reorder' the records based on a summary field. You can use this option while sorting on your email address field to put the grou of records with the largest count first, then next largest group second, etc.