8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 31, 2013 9:56 AM by philmodjunk

How to create a button that makes a new table from a selection??

AshleyBrown

Title

How to create a button that makes a new table from a selection??

Semi-newbie here friends needing your help!!?

here is the puzzle for you clever clever people, i've created a database for my rugby team, approx. 77 players!

i've also greated a list layout that shows the players name and the position they play, and a field indicating whether they have been selected or not.

here's the issue, i need to be able to create a button that then creates a new table showing just the selected team.

esentially in the end i will want to press a button and those who have been selected will have their names mailmerged into outgoing letters maybe a text sent via the mobile phone number we have, even potentially a 'selection' powerpoint presentation that would be shown to them on the friday evening before hand.

so a button that creates a new table that can be used for further merging to other things!!! cheers guys hope you can help

by the way i'm a semi-newbie because i can use most of the program but scripting and functions i'm not offay with just yet!

• 1. Re: How to create a button that makes a new table from a selection??
          philmodjunk

You won't want to dynamically create new tables for this purpose. That approach will fail in FileMaker. While it's possible to use scripting to generate the new table, you will not have any practical way to access the data in the new table as you will be unable to have any scripted way to control the design of the layout produced for that table.

Instead, you need to think in terms of founds sets and relationships that match to sets of related records. You can, for example, set up a table or teams with one records for each team. Assigning players to a team then becomes a process of linking player records to a specific team record.