3 Replies Latest reply on May 27, 2013 3:34 PM by philmodjunk

How to create a quiz on FM pro 12

TinyThorn

Title

How to create a quiz on FM pro 12

Hello,

I'm very new to FileMaker, so apologies for silly questions.

I'm trying to create a multiple choice quiz so multiple users can take it. I am not sure if my tables are even correct, but here's what I have in the following format:

Table (Fields1, Field2, ...)

QuestionBank (QuestionID, QuestionText, CorrectAnswer)

AnswerChoices(ChoiceID, QuestionID(fk), ChoiceText, ChoiceLetter) where ChoiceText is one of many answers to a specific question and ChoiceLetter is A, B, C, etc

Users(UserID, Username) - not worried about password just yet. I haven't gotten that far...

UserAnswers(UserID, QuestionID, UserChoiceLetter, AnswerTime(timestamp))

I filled the tables with some dummy data. Then I created a layout.

I'm attaching first the relationships as well as the layout that I've created. Then I'll make another post and attach the other screenshots to show what's happening.

Screen_Shot_2013-05-24_at_15.52.48.png

• 1. Re: How to create a quiz on FM pro 12
          philmodjunk

You need another relationship line linking USerAnswers to QuestionBank by QuestionID.

A quiz will need the same structure as a questionaire or a survey as the only difference is that survey's don't have correct and incorrect responses. See this thread on survey's to get some additional guidance on how to design your system: Need aid on generating a report from a survey layout.

• 2. Re: How to create a quiz on FM pro 12
            TinyThorn

In addition to the above, I'm attaching another screenshot to explain what I did and how it didn't work:

So created a layout, inserted the QuestionText field to display the question and below inserted ChoiceText field and then went into Inspector's Data tab and used Radio button set and grabbed values from a Value List that I created using ChoiceText from the AnswerChoices table.