9 Replies Latest reply on Sep 18, 2014 5:49 PM by SimonIvarsson

How to create a Script that creates a folder with $Variable (Folder name = Table:Job ID)

SimonIvarsson

Title

How to create a Script that creates a folder with $Variable (Folder name = Table:Job ID)

Hi Everyone.

Sorry if my question is easy / stupid, but I'm not that good with scripting.

What I'm trying to do is a button that creates / opens a folder with the same name as Table:Job ID

I have tried using Apple Script, and that works as long as the folder name is not a $variable

Example open a folder:

tell application "Finder"
      activate
      open "folder:folder:folder:folder:"
      end tell

Can anyone help?

• 1. Re: How to create a Script that creates a folder with $Variable (Folder name = Table:Job ID)
          FentonJones

AppleScript (AS) doesn't know anything about FileMaker Variables; they were added to FileMaker many years after FileMaker's AppleScript was (and it's not been updated, as far as I know). You can use a require FileMaker field(s), as a global. Just reset it before you ask Perform AppleScript script step to run. 

I don't know how much you know about FileMaker & AppleScript, so I'll tell you the easiest way to use it. Have the field(s) on a layout, and go there just before you run the AS. That will allow the Perform AppleScript "Native AppleScript" to work. Else you could use the other option, "Calculated AppleScript"; but then you'd have to redo it, for such things as quotes and returns (in this case not hard, but not done here, so ask if you want to see). This is an example from an old file I have, which will create a specified folder (if needed), then will open it.
          ----------------------------------------

-- all fields needed (2) are on the layout
          set myFolder to cell "_cMyFolder_AS"  -- folder of this FM database file
          set folder_name to cell "FolderName" of current record  -- field of record