5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 1, 2009 2:18 PM by comment_1

How to create a weekly report

tessgold

Title

How to create a weekly report

I'm new to FM and am having the hardest time figuring out how to create what I thought would be a simple report. I hope someone can clue me in.

I need to keep track of daily attendance at our organization's playgroups. No problem. I have a table for Client List and another for Playgroup Attendance. We enter each client's dates of attendance and I had no trouble creating a report that lists the total attendance on any particular date. I even added a DayName field so I could easily see what day of the week is associated with each date.

My problem is that it would be nice if I could structure the report so that it would automatically add up a week's attendance for me (Monday thru Friday). I've got over 2 years of data and just need to find an easy way to organize it.

I'm sure I must be overlooking something very basic, because I would think that a lot of people need to do this, but I can't figure it out and I can't find any help in any of the documentation.

I'd appreciate any help anyone can give me.

thanks, Tess

• 1. Re: How to create a weekly report
          comment_1

You need to add a calculation field that returns a common value for records of the same week, for example =

AttendanceDate - DayofWeek ( AttendanceDate )

and summarize your report by this field.

Note:

1.  You don't really need a DayName field - you can format the attendance date itself to show the day name;

2. Similarly,  if you set the above calculation's result to type Date and add + 2 to the formula, it will return the Monday of the week - you can then use it also as a label for the summarized period.

• 2. Re: How to create a weekly report
            tessgold

Dear Super,