11 Replies Latest reply on Apr 11, 2011 5:10 AM by ErmannoAntonelli

how to create in FM Pro a search equivalent to SELECT TOP in SQL

ErmannoAntonelli

Title

how to create in FM Pro a search equivalent to SELECT TOP in SQL

Hi Guys,

I'm new to FM Pro and I have been doing pretty much all I need, but I'm struggling with one particular search.

Here is what I have done:

I have a Layout in my main project reading values from table (JOBS), I have a relationship with another table (TASKS) that i present in a portal. 

What works so far:

I can search for all records in my JOBS DB that have a particular value in (TASKS::TASK_DESCRIPTION)

What I want is to show only the result only if the value in TASKS::TASK_DESCRIPTION with the most recent date inserted.

I have attached a screen shot of a unwanted search result.

I would fin the value in SQL with SELECT TOP, but I dnot' seem to find the way with the scripting tool.

Any suggestion is appreciated.

Thanks,

Ermanno

screenshot.png

• 1. Re: how to create in FM Pro a search equivalent to SELECT TOP in SQL
          Frinholp

Could you not use Last ( field ) to get the latest record?

From help:

Description 
          If field specifies a repeating field then it returns the last non-blank  repetition. If field specifies a related field, then  it returns the last non-blank value in the related set.
          Note  The last related value will  depend on the way related records are sorted. If the  related records are not sorted, then the Last function  returns a value based on the creation order of the records.

Set a global variable such as $$RecentDate =  Last ( date )

Filter portal using Date = $$RecentDate

Lee

• 2. Re: how to create in FM Pro a search equivalent to SELECT TOP in SQL
            ErmannoAntonelli

Hi Lee,

I think I'm doing something wrong because using Last always return an empty value from the portal, sorry if I'm being dumb here...

This is the script

Go to Layout [ “JOBS” (Jobs) ]