8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 5, 2012 6:18 AM by philmodjunk

How to filter from a drop down list in a saved report?

Jenny_1

Title

How to filter from a drop down list in a saved report?

Good Afternoon All

I have creted a "student" database in FP11 using the Student Record template (using Mac), I have also created some reports for easy access to information. 

In one report I have used a field with a drop down list showing "current, recent & past" students as the "sub-summary sort", I would like to filter out the "past" student files for this report& I assume using a edit to the script?

However as a beginner I am unsure of the best approach, can you help?

Many thanks for your assistance

Jenny.

• 1. Re: How to filter from a drop down list in a saved report?
          philmodjunk

Do you want all records except those with "past" in this field?

If so, use this script:

Go to layout [your report layout]
          Enter Find Mode [] // clear the pause check box
          Set field [Yourtable::YourDropDownField ; "past"]
          Omit record
          Set error capture [on]
          Perform Find[]
          Sort Records [restore ; no dialog ] //sort by your dropdownField so your sub summary parts will be visible

Note, when in find mode, the Omit Record step produces an "omit request" just like clicking the omit button in the status area when you perform a manual find on your database.

• 2. Re: How to filter from a drop down list in a saved report?
            Jenny_1

Hi Phil

Thank you for your quick response.

Sorry, I am doing something wrong here!

I have entered your script but can not get it to work?  I entered it via editing the existing script, deleting previous & adding your script.  In a saved copy of the database I edited the existing script by inserting yours as an extention of the existing.  Neither actions had an impact of the report view.