4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 13, 2010 8:57 AM by philmodjunk

How to get totals of number fields grouped by

benbogaert

Title

How to get totals of number fields grouped by

Hi all,

I'm rather new to Filemaker and working with FM 10. I have experience in PL/SQL and Java programming.

I'm working on a invoice system in FM 10 but I'm stuck on a particular thing what is not so hard in SQL.

Here's the situation:

I have, let's say, 10 invoices with articles that may or may not be on several of these invoices. Now I want to generate a report of the first 5 invoices that presents me the total of each article, so if one article is on invoice 1 and 3 I only want to see the article once but the total amount of this article must be the sum of invoice 1 and 3 of this article.

In SQL this is relatively easy to do with a select sum(amount of the article) grouped by the unique article identifier.

Is there a way to establish this in FM 10? I believe there will be, but I'm not getting there...
      Or is there a way to execute an SQL query in FM 10 and to generate a report out of the results of the query?

thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: How to get totals of number fields grouped by
          ninja

Howdy benbogaert,

I'm no pro at subsummary reports, but that is what you're after.

You seem to be looking for a subsummary report, sorted by articles, on a found set of invoices.

This post is simply to give you the key words to search this forum and FMP help.

it will be another more versed in setting up these reports who can answer the detail questions you run into...

hope this helps

• 2. Re: How to get totals of number fields grouped by
            philmodjunk

Check out Summary Reports and Sub-Summary parts.

You can create a layout based on your invoices line items (you do have your invoiced items in a portal of related line item records don't you?).