5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 20, 2016 12:00 PM by reidbloomfield

How to insert multiple files in container field by using a script with validation

RajIyer

Title

How to insert multiple files in container field by using a script with validation

Dear Friends,

I have a long list of records and each record has its own file, which i am inserting manually in container field and having a hard time with this tedious task.  All file names are sharing the same name as in the Title field. Example:
      Title (text field) - "The Palace" File (container field) - "The Palace.kmz." with an exception of extension (.kmz) at the end.

All the files that i am inserting are in the same folder.  I need a script that should match the file name with Title in the table and insert the corresponding file from the folder into container field accordingly.

I am new to Filemaker and don't know about scripting too.  Please advise how to do this? 

Thank you in advance.

• 1. Re: How to insert multiple files in container field by using a script with validation
          Rajkumar

Hi,

You can write a script (here i m unable to show the screenshot, so follow these guidelines), where you need to set "import record", and specify data source as "folder", and for specify import order, follow these steps:

1. for import action, choose "update matching records in the found set";

2. for the target field, set "=" sign, for matching "Title", and set "->" for the container field where u want to insert file;

3. and check for different "Arrange by" option;and import.

Check for this, hope it'll work.

• 2. Re: How to insert multiple files in container field by using a script with validation
            philmodjunk

The Import Records | Folder action only works with picture, movie and text files. If these files are not of one of these types, you'll need to use a different method.