8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 5, 2014 3:36 PM by SteveMartino

How to Insure a Layout

citygal

Title

How to Insure a Layout & it's Data Can't be Modified?

I'm a new FM Pro user. I want one of my layouts to be for display only but cannot find a simple way to do this.    I'm displaying data from 2 related tables on it.  As I'm the only user of this database, I need to protect it from myself!  Giving myself 2 identities is not the answer.  Is there a way to set this layout & data on it so no modification is allowed?

Thanks for any help!

• 1. Re: How to Insure a Layout & it's Data Can't be Modified?
          philmodjunk

Actually, giving your self two passwords should work just fine for what you want.

You can also select all the fields in your layout and use behavior settings to deny access to the field while in Browse mode.

• 2. Re: How to Insure a Layout & it's Data Can't be Modified?
            AppGuy

Filemaker handles security by privilege set which is assigned to the user.  This is the best way if you want to ensure nothing happens.. 

So as long as the user you are logging in with only has the modified privilege set you should be good..

When you develop you would log in as your developer user..

Hope this helps..

• 3. Re: How to Insure a Layout & it's Data Can't be Modified?
              citygal

Hmm ... this a real problem.  Protection should be able to be set by user and screen (or layout as called in FM Pro) as well.  Having 2 logins doesn't work for me.  I'm constantly shifting back & forth between data entry and browse.  Too easy to make changes to data in Browse.  

I need to be able to protect an entire display (layout) from any changes to data. As I said, I am the ONLY person using these databases. Can't constantly log in & out.  FM Pro should take this situation into account when developing.  I've been a database admin for years - SQL Server - Windows network; never encountered an inability to protect a whole screen.