5 Replies Latest reply on May 17, 2013 9:55 PM by philmodjunk

How to layout a repeating field in multiple columns

b24mike

Title

How to layout a repeating field in multiple columns

I'm very new to working with FileMaker Pro 12.0v4 but am working with an associate who has extensive experience with an earlier version of FileMaker Pro (v7).  We're trying to create a searchable database of missions flown by a World War II bomb group.  We've created a roster table of personnel assigned to the unit (over 4,600 men).  For the air crew members, we want to link the mission numbers they flew to the plane and pilot they flew with.

The maximum number of missions flown by an individual in the unit was 49, but we have decided to make the repeating field larger in case another unit wanted to use our format in their own database.  We have set the number of repeats at 60 and would like to have multiple columns rather than one continuous horizontal or vertical table.  In the earlier version this was possible, but that functionality has been removed for FM 12.  Any thoughts on how this could be done?

• 1. Re: How to layout a repeating field in multiple columns
          philmodjunk

What is the difference between "multiple columns" and "one continuous horizontal table"? Sounds like the same format to me.

I am not aware of any loss of feature here, but then I am not clear as to the difference between these two options.

That said, I strongly encourage you NOT to use a repeating field for this. You can set up a related table of missions flown records instead of the repeating field. Data from such a related table can be organized into columns using one row portals and there are several different options for controlling which portal displays data for a particular mission.

• 2. Re: How to layout a repeating field in multiple columns
            b24mike

Phil: