7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 31, 2013 2:08 PM by bigblue

How to link filemaker solution to external software

bigblue

Title

How to link filemaker solution to external software

Hi,

I am pretty new to filemaker, so excuse me for my possible ignorance. Target is to Link my patient management solution to a external software which shoots the xrays (and stores them) in a dental office. Instructions of the particular software are to use the following command line:

tw.exe -P<storage path> [-N<patient last name>]

Example (given by the manual):

tw -P"C:\dental management sofware\Patient Database" -FJohn

this gives the information to the external program to create or open an existing patient xray folder.... With I would think, the unique Patient Id....

I used the send event on a button with specified file to open:

filewin:/F:/program files/dental imaging software/tw.exe -P"C:\Patients\Xray" -F(Patient:ID)

in the end of the day I would like to have a button on each patient chart which directly opens the related external xray folder of the patient.

It seems to be totally wrong... Any help is greatly apreciated! 

Thank you in advance!!!

• 1. Re: How to link filemaker solution to external software
          Sorbsbuster

The information from the program is telling you the full pathname to the file it has created.  It will, as you say, ned to have a unique (known) identifier on the end.

You should be able to create a container field in your FM file and set it by calculation to be:

filewin:[that path name]

But that pathname has to be valid from the x-ray machine's point-of-view, and also your FM machione's.  For example, if both are running on the same machine, then the location C:\dental management sofware\Patient Database will be accessible to both.

But if the x-ray machine is on one PC and your FM file is on another, then the same path will point the FM file to the C Drive on its machine.