5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 18, 2015 1:52 PM by philmodjunk

How to list students' typed comments in FileMaker Pro report?

TomRohrbach

Title

How to list students' typed comments in FileMaker Pro report?

I'm a tech person, but a newbie at FileMaker, and everything seems to be counter-intuitive and perplexing in this software!  I've tried The Missing Manual, but it rarely answers my questions.

I have a database of students' responses to a questionnaire about each class and teacher.  Let's say I sort my records for one class, with 12 students.  For a text (comment) question, let's say only 5 students type a response and the others leave it blank. 

How in the world can I LIST those typed responses (like "This is my favorite teacher" and "She should speak more slowly") and omit the blank fields on a report?!

Also, I'd prefer to have the comments listed AFTER some subsummary numerical averages bar charts.  Is that possible?

I'd appreciate any help on this.  Also, if there's a MUCH better book on FM Pro 12, please let me know!

• 1. Re: How to list students' typed comments in FileMaker Pro report?
          philmodjunk

Well my crystal ball is out of commission again. wink

So I'd need to know how you have designed your system of relationships, tables, records and fields before I could assist you with an answer. What you want to do should be very easy and straightforward to do, but the underlying design may be what is making this difficult for you to do.

• 2. Re: How to list students' typed comments in FileMaker Pro report?
            TomRohrbach

Okay, let's simplify the situation. I have one table.  There was a student question like "What is the best quality of this teacher?"  It's not a required question.  So, maybe 5 students type a response out of 12, like "He's a good listener" or "She is very helpful".