6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 10, 2010 9:32 AM by ianmanning

How to maintain current status after a change and save (commit)?

WMMike

Title

How to maintain current status after a change and save (commit)?

I'm fairly new to Filemaker/scripting, so excuse me if I ask the obvious. I've got a problem wtih a script/layout. My script presents an overview a club members, conditional to whether tthey have paid thier club dues in a certain period. Simple, presenting the contents a table (call it table1). It works fine, no problem. But in another table in the database (table2) I store totals for the given period. My layout is designed to also display the totals from this table (table2) and that works fine too. The problem is that when I save the totals to table2 (using a commit step), the saved record ceases to be current and table2 reverts to the first record. This causes my totals to disappear on the layout. I need to be able to save the record to table2 and also for the record to remain current so the appropriate field values are presented on the layout. Is this possible?

Thanks,

• 1. Re: How to maintain current status after a change and save (commit)?
          ianmanning

I may be missing something very obvious but failing that you could add steps to your script

to capture the current record number you are editing "Get(RecordID)"  and then after commiting the record go back to that record in the next step. Go to Record/Request/Page[...]

RecordID is a unique record identifier

(Get(RecordNumber) RecordNumber is the nth record in the found set.

if your script changes the found set then you need to use RecordID and add Show All Records to the script as the Go to Record/Request/Page[...] goes to the nth record in the found set.

Set Variable [$CurrentRecordID; Value:Get(RecordID)]

Commit Records/Requests[no dialog]

Show All Records

Go to Record/Request/Page[$CurrentRecordID]