3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 21, 2010 5:44 PM by RickWhitelaw

how to make 14 digit (xxx) xxx-xxxx phone # fields when entering phone #'s in a field

LarryStokes

Title

how to make 14 digit (xxx) xxx-xxxx phone # fields when entering phone #'s in a field

I need to know how to create the formula, value, or calculation for the 14 digit (xxx) xxx-xxxx phone # fields in my contacts table of my database. I want to be able to just type in the 10 digits of the phone numbers (including area code) by entering only the 10 digits. I just created a database and inputted all the contact phone numbers as straight numbers (xxxxxxxxxx) until I can get a response that will allow the data to display properly. Thanks for the help. 

Also I would need to know in what particular area of FileMaker Pro 11 to place this information into and very specifically how to write out the formula or calculation or ??? (from A-Z). In effect I need a walk through.  I'm a newbie to File Maker. I would appreciate any help.

LarryJ

• 1. Re: how to make 14 digit (xxx) xxx-xxxx phone # fields when entering phone #'s in a field
          philmodjunk

I'll give you a basic calculation with each part explained, then discuss your options for implementing it.

First you need to make sure that the data is strictly numeric, that no helpful person has input their own formattin along with the digits.

Filter ( PhoneField ; "0123456789") will strip out all non numeric input.

Now we should be sure that the correct number of digits has been input. (You can also set a validation rule for this). If it is, we'll add the formatting.

And since we don't want to keep typing in the above expression more than once, we'll also use the let function:

Let ( P = Filter ( PhoneField ; "0123456789" ) ; 
                  If ( Length ( P ) = 10 ; "(" & Left ( P ; 3 ) & ") " & Middle ( P ; 4 ; 3 ) & "-" & Right ( P ; 4 ) ; P )
                 )