2 Replies Latest reply on Jan 24, 2011 9:19 AM by AmyHuras

How to make a link between records in the same database

AmyHuras

Title

How to make a link between records in the same database

I am new to Filemaker Pro and I am trying to make a database to organize my research notes for my thesis (I am working with version 11). So far my database has 4 tables containing records for different types of information - like notes from archival sources, secondary sources, printed primary sources etc. I have similar categories in most of these tables so I've created relationships between them so that I can search/display records on similar topics. So far that has worked fine.

But this project is really big and I'd like to be able to link some of my records directly to other records (both in the same table and in different tables) because they go together as a sort of case study. So I am hoping to be able to put a hyperlink on any given record that I could click and it would take me to a related record of my choosing. I would want to be able to manually choose which records to link to each other. I am not sure how to do this. I've tried to read up on it, and so far I think I need to make sure that each record in my database has a unique auto-entered Serial ID field - so I've set that up. But I don't know what to do next.

Thank you kindly in advance for your help.

• 1. Re: How to make a link between records in the same database
          philmodjunk

To relate your main table to a record in a different table:

In Manage | Database | Relationships, Drag from your serial ID field in your main table to a matching ID field (not set up as a auto-entered serial number) in the other table. This should create a line linking the two. You can now place a portal on a layout based on one table and use it to display related records from the other table.

To relate your main table to a record in the same table.