4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 17, 2015 8:49 AM by philmodjunk

How to make an "update notes" script?

Julia

Title

How to make an "update notes" script?

I am very new to Filemaker and am trying to develop a script that will essentially "replace field contents" in a portal for me. 

Background on my database: 
      Within my database individual records are houses. I have a weekly notes tab that allows staff members to add information about those houses at various points throughout the construction process. Many of these notes are applicable to multiple houses in a development, and so my end goal is to develop an "update notes" button that will duplicate the note for each house in that development. On my layout, the "weekly notes" table is viewed through a portal and each row is made up of the following fields: "Notes" "date and time" "user" "communication style"

I already have an "update notes" button that is linked to the script, I just need help to actually get the script to work. 

Right now it says:

Find Matching Records [Replace, Filemaker Data::Development]

Go to Portal Row [Select; Previous]

Replace Field Contents [Weekly Notes::Note].

Right now what it is actually doing- 

It does narrow down the records to find only the ones in that development (success!!) but then it will simply duplicate the note onto multiple rows of the portal on the original record. So it doesn't update the other records in the found set, and I don't want it to replace multiple rows on one record, I want it to add a new row to the other records. 
      I am assuming that after I correctly write the steps to update the "notes" field, I would duplicate those steps for the other fields in that portal row. 

I hope my question made sense! Thank you for any assistance you can provide. 

• 1. Re: How to make an "update notes" script?
          SteveMartino