4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 11, 2013 5:17 AM by lfolkestad

how to make the drop down menu for a field to say "green" "blue" "red" but enter 1 - 2 - 3 into the...

lfolkestad

Title

how to make the drop down menu for a field to say "green" "blue" "red" but enter 1 - 2 - 3 into the database

I am a noob and probably just dont know what its called so i cannot search the fantastic forums for help.

I have a lot of fields of catagorical data eg group color "red", "green", "blue". But seeing i am going to use the db to enter data into that i am later going to export - import into a statistics package for further analysis - it would be nice if the data that was entered into the db was 1, 2, 3. 

I am not going to be doing all of the data entery my self so i cannot use 1, 2, 3 as labels seeing that the other that put data into my database do not know the 'codes'.

So question 1: How do i make the field drop down menu go: red, green, blue - whilst the data registered is 1,2,3

question 2: How do i make a check box that registeres 0 into the database if the box is unchecked and 1 if checked.

hope some of this made sense to anybody other than me.

thank you.

lars

• 1. Re: how to make the drop down menu for a field to say "green" "blue" "red" but enter 1 - 2 - 3 into the...
          philmodjunk

1)

Option 1: Use two fields. Set up field 1 with your value list and set up Field 2 as a calcuation field with a case function that returns the correct number value for the text entered into the field with the drop down. Select your value in field 1, but export the data from field 2.