3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 22, 2012 6:08 AM by philmodjunk

How to narrow selection on one field based on selection of another.

Title

How to narrow selection on one field based on selection of another.

I'm a complete rookie so please excuse this very basic question.

I'm using FMP12.  I'm trying to create an invoiceing system.  I have the basic concept of using a line item table, an inventory table and an invoice table with unique serial numbers and relating them via primary and foriegn keys.

I would like to have drop down and pop up menus when creating an invoice that narrows down your selections as you fill out the form.

Ex: Field#1= Product (Violin,bow,rosin,etc)  

Field#2=Brand limited to first selection (if you selected rosin in the 1st field, only the 10 brands of rosin would appear in the pop-up menu of the 2nd field to choose from)

Field#3=Item Details (color, size, etc. based on available choices of the 2nd field.)

After making these selections, they will result in a new line item on the invoice.

Each selection is an attribute of an inventory item, so I would like to avoid creating new tables for different attributes.

What would be the best way to approach this goal?

• 1. Re: How to narrow selection on one field based on selection of another.
          philmodjunk

This is called a conditional value list. Chaining together several conditional value lists so that each select filters the values for the next is something I've called a "hierarchical conditional value list". Check out these links, especially the last one which discusses the peculiarities of a hierarchical conditional value list:

Forum Tutorial: Custom Value List?

Knowledgebase article: http://help.filemaker.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/5833/kw/conditional%20value%20list

Demo File: https://www.dropbox.com/s/j6qf0z9fnem3uxd/ConditionalValueListDemo.fp7

Hierarchical Conditional Value lists: Conditional Value List Question