3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 1, 2010 12:29 PM by philmodjunk

How to perform search and generate results list.

trevmeister55

Title

How to perform search and generate results list.

Hi,

I am new to FM and have been working at it all day!  I am trying to use the program to help me match up students with college scholarships they are eligible for.  I have created one database with two tables (Students and Scholarships) and have entered about 4 records for each one.  The Students table has 29 fields, and the Scholarships table has 34 fields.

I want to be able to pick a specific student (I'm guessing I could choose the unique Student ID number?) from the Students table and have FM use that student's information to search through the Scholarships table and generate a list of every scholarship that student is eligibile for, along with that scholarship's deadline date.  Here's what I'd like the final report to look like:

(Student Name and Date of Report at top of page)

ABC Scholarship          03/31/2010

DEF Scholarship          04/14/2010

GHI Scholarship           04/03/2010

JKL Scholarship           03/31/2010

I've tried using the Find feature, but I don't want to have to reenter the search criteria from the student's record in order to find the scholarships.  I want to be able to "choose" a student's record so that FM will automatically generate a list of matching scholarships from the second table.

Sorry if I have not used the correct terminology, but I am VERY new to this!

Thanks so much!

Tracie

• 1. Re: How to perform search and generate results list.
          philmodjunk

You could build a relationship that matches selected fields in the student table with fields in the scholarship table. The matching scholarships could be listed in a portal and scripts could be devised so that clicking a listed scholarship brings up the full scholarship record.