5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 12, 2011 12:29 PM by tman1425

How to remove blank line from mailing label?

tman1425

Title

How to remove blank line from mailing label?

I'm very new to filemaker pro and love it so far.  I stated using the contact management layout to create mailing labels for my clients.  When I use the Avery 5160 layout, I simply create a textbox with the following:

<<Name_Full>>

<<Spouse>>

<<Street1>>

<<City1>>, <<State_Province1>>  <<Postal_Code1>>

This works perfectly, except for the people who do not have a spouse.  Is there any way to have it automatically remove the <<spouse>> line and shift everything else up when the <<spouse>> field is left blank?

Thanks in advance.  Any help is appreciated.

• 1. Re: How to remove blank line from mailing label?
          philmodjunk

If you click this text while in layout mode, do you see just one set of 4 selection boxes on the corners?

Option 1:

Separate these merge fields into three blocks of text, put <<Name_Full>> in block 1, <<Spouse>> in block 2 and the rest of these merge fields in Block 3. Set blocks 2 and 3 to "slide up", "resize enclosing part" and you should see the empty space from an empyt Spouse field disappear on you. (To split a block of text up like this, double click it while in Layout mode, select the text you want to make a separate block, cut the text to the clip board, click somehwere else on the layout and paste the cut text back to the layout--drag it or use the arrow keys to position where you need it.

Option 2:

Define a new calculation field in your table, cName_FullSpouse as List ( Name_Full ; Spouse )

Then replace the Name_Full and Spouse fields with teh cName_FullSpouse field on this layout.

• 2. Re: How to remove blank line from mailing label?
            LaRetta_1

Hi Tyler,

If all of the merge fields are within the same text box then they should naturally remove any blank merge lines.