7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 4, 2009 3:12 PM by davidanders

How to send email

3yk999

Title

How to send email

I am new to filemaker and just want to know how I can send emails to my 500 customers, message is the same for all of them but I would not like them to view each other email addresses. I mean it should be sent as indivisual email.

I am using filemaker 7 and 8.

Please advice in easy words as I am new

• 1. Re: How to send email
          GaryHale

Sending email is easy. At least on MsWindows.  Just plug the 

SendMail command into a script. It lets you hard-code the

usually information ( subject, body, To: and an attached file) or it will take this information from fields you specific. 

I usually build my email body in a selected field by combining script-defined text and some field values.  Then send the email, loop around and build the next one.

The comand uses your computer-defined default email program to send out the emails.

• 2. Re: How to send email
            3yk999

Thanks Gary,

But I want to send same email to 100 customers and I wish that they could not see each other email address.

When I tried by just testing the email its shows other recipients email addresses as well.

• 3. Re: How to send email
              WalleyM
                 Just put all addresses into the Bcc field and only put your own into the To field. That way all your client email addresses will remain hidden.
              • 4. Re: How to send email
                3yk999
                   thanks a lot but what if I want to use my gmail account instead of outlook express
                • 5. Re: How to send email
                  curtis_1

send email from fmp using my gmail account??? need help

gmail works and

filemaker works

how do I make gmail account work from fmp when I click send email from fmp

have yet to solve issue

settings to establish gmail as default take me to outlook using explorer 7