1 2 3 Previous Next 40 Replies Latest reply on Sep 13, 2012 5:57 PM by davidanders

How to set a portal from multiple tables?

CraigJulian

Title

How to set a portal from multiple tables?

I apologize if this is too much information but I am still learning and want to give enough information.

I have 7 tables (Companies, Contacts, CD Notes, CSG Notes, Company News Notes, Legal Notes & Attachments) and want to have a tab with a "Journal" portal that would scroll all the notes from the listed tables. My IT guys are not much help on this as they refer to SQL and say "Query" but I am not finding a query for FM.

We I try to build a portal I notice it will only let me pull from one table...any suggestions would be appreciated.

Craig

relation.png

• 1. Re: How to set a portal from multiple tables?
          philmodjunk

"Query" in SQL roughly corresponds with performing a find in FileMaker. It also describes what happens when you place a portal to a related table on your layout as the relationship you define for it in Manage | Database | Relationships controls what records from the related table will be accessible.

Not only have you not given "too much info". A bit more would have helped. You haven't indicated how you've related your tables to each other--particularly the "notes" tables.  Please Help Us to Help You...

You can include fields from more than one table in the same portal. Whether this actually works for you, however, will depend on the relationships you define to link your tables.

A general observation that I can make. You 4 "notes" tables. It may be that you only need one table for all your notes with fields inside the table documenting the type of note and to which note in which table the note should be linked. Such a "combined notes" table might be easier to include in your "journal" portal.

• 2. Re: How to set a portal from multiple tables?
            CraigJulian

PhilModJunk -

Thanks for the quick response.