2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 15, 2009 3:29 PM by Meg

How to show fields from another table?

Meg

Title

How to show fields from another table?

Hi Guys, I am fairly new to FileMaker. I am working with Oracle and use PL/SQL. I am trying to populate some fields in a form, when a value is entered in another one. I have a table called Purchase Order and another one called Vendor Table. My form should fetch and show fields like Vendor Address and Fax number from Vendor table and show them as individual fields on the purchase Order form, when the user inserts the Vendor Name.I can't figure it out, how it should be done. Can you please help me with your expertise? Thanks, Megan

• 1. Re: How to show fields from another table?
          LaRetta_1

Your purchase order table should have a field called VendorID.  Your Vendor table should have an auto-enter serial number called VendorID.  You should then create a value list called Vendor and it would be 'use values from field' and you would specify using values from first field in your Vendor table.  In the left list, select your VendorID.  In the right list, check 'Also display values from' and select your Vendor Name.  Below, you would 'include all values' and 'show values only from second field.'

Then create a relationship in your graph from Purchase Orders::VendorID to Vendors::VendorID using =

Now, on your Purchase Order form, place your vendor name and fax number fields (from your vendor table).  Attach a pop-up value list to your Purchase Orders VendorID field (don't use a drop-down for this).  When you select the correct Vendor for this Purchase Order (using this pop-up), your Purchase Orders VendorID will fill in and complete the relationship to the Vendors table.