6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 24, 2011 7:03 AM by ninja

How to Sort Correctly Using a Simple Dashed Format, ie 1-1

janman

Title

How to Sort Correctly Using a Simple Dashed Format, ie 1-1

Hello experts ... I'm not a pro but I have FM Pro Advanced v10.  Just trying to do a simple sort.  I've searched through all the forums and tried a few things but still doesn't work properly.  I have item numbers that go like this ... 1-1, 1-2, 1-3 ... 1-10, 1-11 ... 2-1, 2-2, 2-3, etc.  Very simple.  When I run a Sort it turns out like 1-1, 1-10, 1-11, 1-2, etc.  I have the numbers in a TEXT field but have also tried a NUMBER setting.  I have also tried removing the dash and using a period.  Same thing.  Seems goofy that this program can't count from one to ten and put things in the right order.  Hope someone has a simple solution / explanation.  Many, many thanks!

• 1. Re: How to Sort Correctly Using a Simple Dashed Format, ie 1-1
          ninja

Howdy,

FMP can sort from one to ten very well...it's just that that as text or number, that isn't what's in your field!

Might I suggest that you break your code into two fields, one for the prefix number and one for the suffix.
          Then sort ascending by the prefix as primary sort, and sort ascending by the suffix as secondary sort.

Perhaps the easiest way to do this is to only have the prefix and suffix open to editing, and have your "code" be a calculated field defined as:

PrefixField & "-" & SuffixField

• 2. Re: How to Sort Correctly Using a Simple Dashed Format, ie 1-1
            philmodjunk

Neither sorting by number or text rules will work for this field as formatted.

If you can add leading zeroes to your single digit numbers: 01-01, 01-10, text based sorting would work and you can use a text field.

If you can't do that, split your values into two different number fields and sort on both of them.

If you keep your current field, let's call it NumberText, unchanged, you can do this:

cValue1