5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 27, 2011 8:40 AM by philmodjunk

How to update a database after its deployed to several users

DianeJohnson

Title

How to update a database after its deployed to several users

I have been building a database solution for about 4 months now and am ready to deploy it to several users. The thing is that every user will have unique database records. Before I deploy it, I want to make sure I have a plan in place to update the database layouts, tables, etc, prior to sending it out.

So let's say I have a user that reports a bug, ie a script that doesn't work correctly or something like that. Obviously that will affect everyone that has a copy of the database. How can i fix the script and update each individual file? Or let's say, I want to add a feature to the database that adds new fields to a table, changes a layout, or adds a layout? How can I update each database with these new features? 

For the life of me I can't figure out how to do this? Do I need to send out a new copy of the database, create some scripting to import the records from each table of the original database? Is there an easier way?

Thank you.

Diane

P.S. Fairly new Filemaker developer (about 6 months now)

• 1. Re: How to update a database after its deployed to several users
          philmodjunk

There are two methods developers routinely use. You've hit on "method 2". "Method 1" reduces the need for "Method 2" but it is still needed from time to time so it is a good idea to structure your database to support both methods.

Method 1.