3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 27, 2011 8:35 AM by philmodjunk

How to use a portal to create records with two references to other tables

kenfromboston

Title

How to use a portal to create records with two references to other tables

Hi,

I'm new to using portals, and I need some assistance in an interface to implement the following:

I am building a database to keep track of photographs and the people who appear in them.  A simplistic version of the tables that I've set up are:

"Documents" Table.  Fields are:

========================

doc_id (key field)

document object (holds a reference to the image)

doc_description (description of the document)

"People" Table.  Fields are:

=====================

person_id (key field)

person_name (person's name)

"PeopleInDocs" table.  Fields are:

==========================

doc_id (reference to the document in which the person appears)

person_id (reference to the person appearing in the document)

location_description (text such as "front row, second from left")

I'm currently able to set up the portal so I can create "PeopleInDocs" records for the current record, and specify the text value of the location_description field.  After creation, the doc_id field of the "PeopleInDocs" record is also updated correctly.  But I can't figure out how (or if it's possible) to enter the person's name in the portal field.  For maintenance reasons, I don't want to have the "PeopleInDocs" records contain the actual "People" data.  Can a portal row contain a dropdown list of the people in the "People" table, so I can select one?  Should there be a script that displays some sort of dialog or prompt for a person after the rest of the data for the portal record has been entered?

Any advice is most welcome.

Thanks,

Ken

• 1. Re: How to use a portal to create records with two references to other tables
          philmodjunk

You appear to have this many to many relationship: (Let me know if I get this wrong)