4 Replies Latest reply on May 1, 2013 10:30 AM by EricCrespin

How to use Yes No field in a Portal

EricCrespin

Title

How to use Yes No field in a Portal

Hello all, I am new to FM and I am using Pro Version 11. 

I have a  portal that lists members assigned to a selected location. I need to have a Yes/No field for each record (member). 

Right now, I have a Text Field and is associated with a Value List. One can select Yes or No however it changes each member record Yes No field in the portal. 

Portal design

Member Name         Paid Subscription    Flavor       Amount Due   Picked Up Jars (Y/N selection needed)

Member Name         Paid Subscription    Flavor       Amount Due   Picked Up Jars (Y/N selection needed)

5-1-2013_9-08-39_AM.png

• 1. Re: How to use Yes No field in a Portal
          philmodjunk

That should work if the field is defined in the same table as that of the portal. Make sure that the table occurrence referenced by this field object matches that of the portal's.

To explain that in more detail:

Enter layout mode and click the yes no field to select it. Go to the inspector's data tab and note the text to the left of :: in the "display data from" box.

Then double click the portal to open portal setup and note the text in "Display related records from". You need to have the same exact text in both places.

If you don't have the same text in both places, double click the yes no field while still in layout mode to open the specify fields dialog box. Select this same text from the drop down menu, then select the desired field.

• 2. Re: How to use Yes No field in a Portal
            EricCrespin

Thanks for the feedback however the PickUpJars Yes/No field is specific to this layout vs other fields in the portal row. 

Meaning: Fullname come from a table occurance of CSS Members

Paid Y/N; Season; Quantity; Amount Due all come the Subscription table

Allergies comes from the Members table