2 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2013 10:22 AM by SamanthaTaffner

How to visualize a small family tree

SamanthaTaffner

Title

How to visualize a small family tree

Hello,

I'm new to FileMaker and have limited programing exprience.  I'm unsure if I'm addressing this problem completely wrong.  Please help. 

Is there any way to visualize a small family tree? 

Here is my problem:  I have a Patient with X disease.  I need to ask the patient about thier family with X disease.  Family includes spouse, Siblings, children, parents, aunts/Uncles, Cousins, and grandparents.  Then I need to make a small family tree highlighting family members with X disease. 

Here is my database structure:

Individual table (IndividualID, dateOfBirth, dateOfDeath, Disease)

Role table (roleCode, roleDescription)

From that I would  like a tree to be displayed. Is this possible in FileMaker? 

I hope this makes sense.  I had a hard time discribing it. 

Thanks for your help.

Samantha

• 1. Re: How to visualize a small family tree
          philmodjunk

How are you relating the Role table to the Individual table? It looks like you missing a few fields to use as matchfields.

The typical "tree" type geneology chart is not something that will be easy to produce from FileMaker due to the graphic nature of such a chart and due to the complex biological relationships that can arise when tracking human inheritance.

FileMaker can manage the necessary links, but the desired char will be tricky to do.

I think you might be able to get this to work with a pattern of filtered portals on a form view layout with many of the portals being empty for any given chart depending on the number children and number of spouses at each generational level.

• 2. Re: How to visualize a small family tree
            SamanthaTaffner

Thank you Phil.  

oops I forgot the link between my tables.  I was thinking of a relationship such as. 

Individual table (IndividualID, roleCode, dateOfBirth, dateOfDeath, Disease)