6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 26, 2009 9:00 AM by ninja

How to write a Script that duplicates a record in a different layout

emcclure

Title

How to write a Script that duplicates a record in a different layout

Hello,

So I'm really new at the Script writing part of all this. And it may sound kind of weird when I try to describe what I'm trying to do but please bear with me. I current have a table named "New Hire" and one named "Employee." What I'm trying to do is write a script that willtake the New Hire Record and create that record in the Employee table once the Start Date field is greater than the current date field. Is there any way I can do this?

Please help!

• 1. Re: How to write a Script that duplicates a record in a different layout
          ninja

Howdy emcclure,

Thanks for the post and welcome to the forum!

The script can go a few ways, one including lookups (that I find dangerous so I won't explain that one) and the long, rugged way.  The longer but rugged way is this:

GoToLayout [Employee]

New record/Request

SetField [Employee::Field1;NewHire::Field1]

SetField [Employee::Field2;NewHire::Field2]

SetField [Employee::Field3;NewHire::Field3]

SetField [Employee::Field4;NewHire::Field4] ...

GoToLayout [NewHire] {maybe can be GoToLayout [original]}

Delete Record

GoToLayout [ThePlaceYouWantToEndUp]

If you have over 20 fields to copy over to the other table...you might also consider using the "Import Record" function as well.  I tend not to use Import Record, but it would work well for what you are trying to do...it's a preference thing with me.  If you only have 5-10 feilds...keep it simple so the next guy after you can figure it out.

Let us know how you progress!

• 2. Re: How to write a Script that duplicates a record in a different layout
            emcclure