1 Reply Latest reply on Feb 24, 2011 10:47 AM by philmodjunk

I am new

BrentPattberg

Title

I am new

Hi, I am new to all this so forgive me.  I am a veterinarian, not a programmer but trying to learn filemaker.  I have a couple of very basic questions.  I am truing to write a management solution for my practice... One that has client informatiomn, there pet(s) info, and the medical history of each pet. My question is what tables do I need?  For example in medical records I will have an area to write notes, place images, etc... What tables would I need?  What if I wanted to choose from a list of diagnosis, for example?  Do I then need a diagnosis table as well,mor does a drop down list not come from a separate table? What keys would be needed?  Forgive these beginner questions.  I hope over time they won't be so elementary. Thanks.

• 1. Re: I am new
          philmodjunk

If you have not already done so, please invest in a book on FileMaker and/or take in some training tutorials. These will cover your questions in far greater depth than can be done in an online forum. Please feel welcome to keep posting questions, but if you avail yourself of additional training, it'll provide you with a better context from which to ask questions and understand their answers.

What tables do I need?

There's no simple answer to that question as it has several interlocking questions only you can answer. How do you run your vet practice? What are your current record keeping/billing methods? Do you want to design a system just like you have now, but on the computer or are there changes you want to make?