5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 15, 2011 3:09 AM by amandawrigley

I know what I want, but I don't know what it's called!

amandawrigley

Title

I know what I want, but I don't know what it's called!

I am new to FileMaker Pro 11, with some experience (years ago) of building a similar database to the one I’m building now but in Access. Then I had a lot of tech support, so I just had to have a clear idea of what I wanted the system to do. Now I have no tech support and only dim memories of the terminology and functionality of things!

I have worked through the User Guide and the Tutorial, and neither seem to help me with the next stage of what I need to do. Look-up tables and portals looked promising initially, but I don’t think they are what I need.

I am building a database in which to record a particular type of television programme.

I have a bunch of tables with fields. So far so good. I’ve even built relationships between them in the Relationships tab in Manage Database. (Although some look one-to-many and I can’t find where to change that.)

The central form in the database is Productions, and this holds records on individual television programmes. In this form I need to have a field for Network, to indicate on which network the television programme was broadcast. I have a table for Network (fields: network_ID and network_name).