10 Replies Latest reply on Jun 29, 2009 1:51 PM by philmodjunk

I need a script plz

lkn4atlantis

Title

I need a script plz

First off, I'm still new to FM and using FMP5.

Here's my situation. I have a template called Individual Customer, which gives me info about each customer; name, address, phone ect. I also want it to list the items they are renting. The list of possible rental items is approx 60, so i don't want it to list each item and then a 0 if they don't have any. (I do need it to list negative numbers tho). I have the information in a seperate FM file and also in the same FM file as the Individual Customer page. So, what script would I use to create a list that would only show what they are renting, and how many of that item. The file with the Indivudual Customer page is called "Customers Main" and the file with the list of the customers and what they are renting is called "totals".  Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks much - Amy

• 1. Re: I need a script plz
          philmodjunk

You should have a relationship defined linking your two files. How have you defined this?

No script should be needed except maybe to perform a find to get the right found set in some cases.

In your Customers Main file, you can create a layout that uses a portal to display all the matching records from totals for a given customer. This is a good layout for data entry.

In your "totals" file, you can create a summary report with Fields from Customers Main in the header and the invidual items rented in the body. If you perform a find in the totals file or use go To related records from the customers main file, you can pull up the report for one specific customer. This is a good way to generate a printed report.

Both methods require a defined relationship that links the two files. The portal approach requires the relationship to be defined in Customers Main and the Summary Report  approach requires that this relationship be defined in Totals.