5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 1, 2010 9:07 PM by noamrsf

I need help On layouts with 2 tables

noamrsf

Title

I need help On layouts with 2 tables

Hello there
      I am pretty new to file maker(Not to databases). I have FMP10 .
      I have 3 main tables created in 3 files(ORDERS,RESULTS,DMG). I have created relations between those tables.
      I need to create a layout that one part of it updates one table and the other part of it is to be updated depending on a field's data.. for example:every order is related to a patient in the DMG file..
      What I created is a layout for the order and a tab(in that layout) that I have put there fields from the dmg file..
      but when i try to run it the fileds from the DMG files in the tab are in no edit status
      My question is how can I turn them to be allow edit..(if someone can show an example that will be very helpful)
      Thanx alot in advance
      Noam

• 1. Re: I need help On layouts with 2 tables
          ninja

Howdy noamrsf,

Welcome to the forum.

A few things that would prevent editing.

1. Is the field editable in Browse Mode (Field behavior setting)

2. Are you editing a value, or inserting a value into a blank field (thereby creating a related record in DMG).  If so, check your relationship (File>Manage>Databse>relationships tab, doubleclick the relationship box...make sure the "allow creation of new records" box is checked properly on the DMG side of the relationship)

3. Do you have account privileges that allow you to edit data on the table?  If you have FullAccess, the answer to this is yes.

• 2. Re: I need help On layouts with 2 tables
            noamrsf

hi ninja

thanx for the reply

1. yes the field is editable in browse mode.

2. Since this field (idnum) is actually the relation to the  dmg file, it is sure defined as allow creation of new records(in the DMG file ofcourse)

3. I have fullaccess yes

What i thought is to make a portal relation ..you think it would help ?