1 2 Previous Next 18 Replies Latest reply on Nov 30, 2012 9:16 AM by philmodjunk

I need help! Script to search database

mnrk

Title

I need help! Script to search database & if record is found, to bring up a message, if not to start a new record? Please help!

Hi guys & gals,

I need some help with a perform find script, I want to type in a registration number of an aircraft (my brother is a plane spotter) and when I tab out of that field I want it to search the database to see if he'salready seen it, if so I want it to bring up a error box to say, You have already seen this aircraft, Would you like to 'Go to record' 'Enter a new record' OR cancel. 

If you click 'go to record' it'll take you to that record

if you click 'Add a new record' I want it to use that registration number and input it automaticly?

Please can anyone help, I've been searching the internet for weeks trying to get this database sorted for my brother, I am no expert on databases and scripts and really could do with a little help?

• 1. Re: I need help! Script to search database & if record is found, to bring up a message, if not to start...
          philmodjunk

Set up a field with global storage for entering the observed registration number: Globals::gRegNumber

Perform this script:

Enter Find Mode [] --> Clear the pause check box
               Set Field[Planes::RegistrationNumber ; Globals::gRegNumber ] ---> This step will not work unless gRegNumber has global storage specified
               Set Error Capture [on]
               Perform Find[]
               If [ Get ( FoundCount ) // a plane record was found]
                 Show Custom Dialog [ "You have already seen this aircraft"]
               else
                 Show Custom DIalog ["Registraion Number Not Found. Create a new record?"]
                 If [ Get ( LastMesageChoice ) = 1 // default button was clicked]
                    New Record/Request