6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 20, 2009 6:01 PM by LLBoyo

I'd Like to Build a Knowledge Base Database But...

hopkinsprinting

Title

I'd Like to Build a Knowledge Base Database But...

...does FileMaker have a field type that can combine text and imagery in a single scrolling field/window?  I guess this would be called either an HTML or perhaps a rich text field?

Thanks,

Jon :-) 

• 1. Re: I'd Like to Build a Knowledge Base Database But...
          Jens Teich
             You can have browser type objects called webviewer which can be filled with HTML from FM calculations.

Jens
          • 2. Re: I'd Like to Build a Knowledge Base Database But...
            hopkinsprinting

Hi Jens,

Thanks for the reply.  Do you know if there are any example databases out there that use this type of object?  I am new to FileMaker.

Thanks so much!

• 3. Re: I'd Like to Build a Knowledge Base Database But...
              TSGal

hopkinsprinting:

Thank you for your post.

If you already have FileMaker Pro (trial or full release), open up a database file, pull down the View menu and select Layout Mode.  If you are using FileMaker Pro 10, then along the top in the Status area are several icons representing tools.  Putting your cursor over these tools will give you a description.  Towards the right side, find the Web Viewer tool and use that to draw a box on the layout to display the HTML.  Select the web address you want viewed and click OK.  Go to Browse mode and the Web viewer will display the information.

Let me know if you need clarification for the above steps.

TSGal

FileMaker, Inc. 

• 4. Re: I'd Like to Build a Knowledge Base Database But...
                hopkinsprinting

Hi TSGal,

Many thanks for your reply!! :-)