4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 23, 2010 8:55 PM by RandyS_1

identify active portal row??

AndrewFish

Title

identify active portal row??

I should first point out that I'm very new at this (4 months)

I am developing a DB for a dance school that will manage class roles & invoicing.

the tables and relationships involved look something like this:

Customer - Student (1 to many)

Customer - Invoice (1 to many)

Student - Class (many to many)

I am wanting to write a script that will copy data from a portal on the Class layout across to a related invoice associated with the customer. I am having trouble writing a script that 1) Identifies the active portal row to copy info from and 2) finds the related customer invoice to paste the info.

any help would be appreciated

• 1. Re: identify active portal row??
          philmodjunk

There is the function Get ( ActivePortalRowNumber ) , but I wouldn't use it for the task you describe. I believe your Class table serves like a "products" table in a more typical invoicing system, correct?

Your system (via script or user action) should enter an ID number for the class into a line item record of the invoice and a looked up value or auto-entered calculation should use a relationship between the ID number field of the Line Item table and the Class table to copy the needed data from the Class table.

• 2. Re: identify active portal row??
            RandyS_1

Hi Andrew,

I'm also developing a dance studio database for the dance school my daughters go to. If you want to compare notes then just send me a PM through the forum.

I started with the FM11 Invoices Starter Solution and I've modified the heck out of it along the way. The biggest change I made was adding a Season table so that each class belongs to a season. That way when next season comes along they can duplicate their classes database, assign to a new season and modify the classes and prices as needed for the upcoming season. Know what I mean.