9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 29, 2012 7:58 AM by philmodjunk

If formula on child records

eibcga

Title

If formula on child records

Beginner here using Mac with FMP11.0v4.

I've created a small database to track bids placed on gemstones.  A stone can have many bidders, because a stone can have more than one bid.  A bidder can bid on many stones, because many stones can receive bids from the same bidder.  The Relationship Graph shows the many-to-many relationship.  Here are the constraints: For example, there are 80 stones (which will vary at each auction).  There will always be two bidders, no more or no less, at any given auction.  Each bidder must bid on each stone.  The bidder who has the highest bid wins that stone.  Each auction does not need to be tracked in the database (at each auction, the data for the list of stones on auction are imported into the Stones table, and the bids data are imported into the Bids table).  The database then runs a series of reports.

I'm stuck at the part where, on the Stones layout, I have a portal to the Bids table.  When I look at each stone record, the portal properly shows two bids, one from each bidder.  I then add a Max summary field under the portal to tell me which of the two bids has the highest bid amount.  But, how do I have FMP calculate which bidder name got the highest bid (not just the highest bid amount)?  Do I use an IF formula?  How do I use that formula on related records in this case?  I'm good so far and everything is working until this step.

I also add other calculations, like max bid amount for each stone, multiplied by the stone weight (in carats), to arrive at the total extended bid amount.