4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 26, 2014 8:46 PM by dbail22@comcast.net

If, then, look up

MPhillipps

Title

If, then, look up

I'm sure that this is a simple thing to achieve but I'm not a programer. I do enjoy developing FM for my company.

I trying to build a field that "IF" an employee's name is John "THEN" it will look up John rate of $20 and insert $20 in to another another field.

I have an employee Table with their names and rate. A job Table with actual vers estimated cost/times. I'm developing a total actual labor cost and do not want to use an average employee rate.

Thank you for your help.

• 1. Re: If, then, look up
          RickWhitelaw

Not enough info I'm afraid. What are the tables and how are they related?

• 2. Re: If, then, look up
            MPhillipps

1) I'm not sure how to answer in brief and explain the tables relationship excepted to say that they are matched by a project number. 2) The table are not the focus of the question. The fields are. (If "field:Emp-Name" is John and if John's "field:Emp-Rate" is $20 than insert $20 in to "field:Rate"

I hope that this helps.

• 3. Re: If, then, look up
              nihmbrisby

It helps to explain what you are trying to achieve in 'real world' terms.  What is your goal?  For example, let's assume what you want is to generate an amount due based on a rate and a period.  Let's say for simplicity sake that you need this amount generated once per job.  'Jobs' are fundamental entities in your relationship model and have their own table.  You have a layout based on this table called JOBS where users handle information about particular jobs.