10 Replies Latest reply on Nov 4, 2014 10:59 AM by philmodjunk

imagewin Can't get it to work

dansan500

Title

imagewin Can't get it to work

Platform: Windows Server 12...... using FileMaker 13 Server, all required ports are open

I have a folder called MASTERIMAGE, it's on the C drive on the server

There are Photos in it (jpg), 275 thousand or so...

All photos are saved with the Item# so whatever is in the field matches the Item# in the statement

My local server address is : 192.168.1.10

"imagewin://192.168.1.10/MASTERIMAGE/Item#"&".jpg"

Using a Calculation field (Container is selected)

Basically it's inventory with a photo. i don't want to load all those pics in the database, much rather they be in a folder or a Cloud.

"Whats strange is i had this working on FileMaker 11 but we upgraded, changed the server and file paths.."

I must be leaving out something.

Can you help.

• 1. Re: imagewin Can't get it to work
          schamblee

Filemaker 11 supported ole and Filemaker 12 and above does not and I would guess that is the reason it is not working anymore. 

The method you have to use in 12 and above.

http://help.filemaker.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/10244/~/storing-container-field-data-externally

• 2. Re: imagewin Can't get it to work
            philmodjunk

File paths aren't explicitly stored with OLE in the older versions so I don't think that's the situation here. More likely, some small discrepancy in your computed file path is causing the issue.

You might use the file found here to capture and inspect the file path of a file inserted from this location.

Importing Layouts

You also need to have the folder where these images shared and permissions set to allow at least "read" level access before clients can see the images on the folder on your server.

• 3. Re: imagewin Can't get it to work
              dansan500

so, your saying that imagewin will work?

• 4. Re: imagewin Can't get it to work
                philmodjunk