4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 1, 2014 4:49 PM by FentonJones

Import data into two tables

siamack

Title

Import data into two tables

Newbie here!

I have a simple database with two tables (members and trees) that are joined by primary key & foreign key. I need to import a file of members, each having from 1 to 5 trees. I can import data into one of the tables but not both.

How do I make sure the trees are connected to the right members. FM can generate a unique primary key automatically. How do i get the foreign key to match the primary key?

Thank you

• 1. Re: Import data into two tables
          philmodjunk

What data in your file from which you will import data uniquely identifies each member?

How is the data structured in that file? Is all the tree and member data all in the same row?

• 2. Re: Import data into two tables
            siamack

Hi Phil:

I have two options for unique identifiers, 1) current records all have a unique ID#, 2) Each record has owner's full name

As for he structure of the data yes all the information is on one long row. Name of the owner plus say 5 trees and tree details are listed as

First_Name, Last_Name, Tree1_Type, Tree1_Size, Tree1_Location......followed by Tree2_Type, Tree2_Size, Tree2_Location

• 3. Re: Import data into two tables
              philmodjunk

But is there a unique ID# in the File from which you will import this data?

You have more issues here than that. From what I see, you will need to import the data into a separate table and then run a script with a pair of nested loops to loop through both the records and the columns in order to create new records in your table of Trees data and also link them to the correct members record. I am assuming that each cluster of 3 columns for each tree needs to be recorded as a separate record in your Trees table.

• 4. Re: Import data into two tables
                FentonJones

Either a "unique id" or the "full name" (if unique) will work (in that order of preference).