9 Replies Latest reply on Oct 21, 2013 11:27 AM by philmodjunk

Import Excel table with multi records to one person

steve_c

Title

Import Excel table with multi records to one person

I am pretty new to Filemaker and would appreciate some help or point me in the right direction with a training database I am starting.

I would like to import an exel table to start and create  a new database.  I have placed the excel file into FM and it appears to work fine.  The excel table is basically a report from another database program.

I have a number of fields in the table:

ID

First Name

Last Name

Training Course

I have many more fields but I hope I can explain my issue with just the above.

I have 5 rows of a record

ID   First Name   Last Name   Training Course

001 Jed                 Smith             First Aid

001 Jed                 Smith             Abrasive Wheels

001 Jed                 Smith            Fire Precautions

001  Jed                Smith            Tractor

What I need to try and create from the above sample data ( i have lots about 140 persons with up to 10 training courses each) is only one 001 Jed Smith with all the courses etc.

Is there anyone can assist, hopefully I have explained my problem rather than confuse everyone out there?

Regards

Steve

• 1. Re: Import Excel table with multi records to one person
          philmodjunk

Open manage | Database and define a new table with the fields:

ID, First Name, Last Name.

Open Field Options for ID and select these options on the validation tab:

Unique Values, Validated always.

Import your excel data from the excel file into this table.

The duplicate ID's will be automatically omitted during the import.

• 2. Re: Import Excel table with multi records to one person
            steve_c

Phil

Thank you for your swift reply, I tried the above and had an input summary box at the end of the inport:

Total Records Added/Updated 1346

Records Skipped due to errors 1176

Table Created 0