9 Replies Latest reply on Mar 27, 2013 10:25 AM by philmodjunk

Import with criteria script

caterinap

Title

Import with criteria script

Hi all!

I am a new FM Pro 12 user. I would like to import data into a database with some criteria.

Here are more details....

I have a very simple one-table database. Two other users work on the database at the same time using their own database copies. Thus the column names are the same for eveybody. Every user fills empty fields and may update some fields with new values. It is possible that two users change or fill the same field.

Once a month evrybody send me their database with the new values and I have to integrate it in the main database. Thus I am looking for a script for data import. I am looking to something that can allow to:

- import all the new fields that have been filled

- for numerical fields: update the values only if they are greater than the ones I have already in the main databse

- for text fields:update the values only if the text lenght is greater than the one that is already in the main database

Do you have any ideas?

Thanks a lot!!

• 1. Re: Import with criteria script
          philmodjunk

It would be much better not to use separate copies of the database like this. If you were to host the database from one computer while the others open it as clients of the database, you elminate the entire issue you have here.

To do what you describe, you'd need to do a two stage import. You'd use import records to import the data into a temporary table. Then you'd use a script or possibly some Replace Field  Contents operations to selectively update your main table with data from the temporary table.

You may also want to investigate the third party data synch tools produced by 360Works and SeedCode to see if they can make this process work better for you.

• 2. Re: Import with criteria script
            caterinap